Find us on

Language Switcher Fallback

European Fisheries Control Agency

You are here

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board advises the Executive Director of the Agency and ensures close cooperation with stakeholders. The Advisory Board is composed of representatives of the Advisory Councils, on the basis of one representative designated by each Advisory Council. The meetings of the Advisory Board are chaired by the Executive Director.

A representative of the Advisory Board takes part in the deliberations of the Administrative Board meetings without the right to vote. The Advisory Board representative in the EFCA Administrative Board is appointed in accordance with the yearly rotation system agreed by its members. From 2 March 2016 to 1 March 2017 the representative of the Advisory Board is Mr Gianpaolo Buonfiglio, Mediterranean Advisory Council, and the alternate Mr Hugo Gonzalez, North Western Waters Regional Advisory Council.

The Advisory Councils are stakeholdered organisations composed of representatives from the industry and other groups of interest. In addition to the seven existing Advisory Councils below, the new CFP foresees the creation of four new Advisory Councils for the Black Sea, Aquaculture, Markets and Outermost regions.

  • Baltic Sea Advisory Council (BSAC)

  • South Western Waters Advisory Council (SWWAC)

  • Long Distance Advisory Council (LDAC)

  • Mediterranean Advisory Council (MEDAC)

  • Pelagic Advisory Council (Pelagic AC)

  • North Western Waters Advisory Council (NWWAC)

  • North Sea Advisory Council (NSAC)

The Advisory Councils are embedded in EFCA’s Communication strategy as key partners.  They provide the European Commission and EU countries with recommendations on fisheries management matters.

The EFCA participates in the relevant meetings of the executive committees and workings groups of the Advisory Councils when there are issues referring to EFCA competences in the agendas.